Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise

This weeks WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is Surprise. It is not too often one get to capture the moment of surprise, unfortunately. However, some years ago, when we sat on the veranda of our family summer house in Lappland, northern Sweden, overlooking the lake, we got ourselves a surprise! There was a moose crossing the lake, and it is a big lake, so the moose got a good work out. The photo of the swimming moose is not very clear.

We also estimated the place of arrival, and welcomed the moose with some paparazzi photos. I guess the whole situation was quite surprising for everyone involved.

Diverse 051Diverse 052

20 responses

  1. arnoldthearmadillo

    Olympic swimmer Moose..

    December 22, 2012 at 8:04 am

    • Hehe, yeah, she was pretty fast actually!

      December 22, 2012 at 8:14 am

      • arnoldthearmadillo

        It is surprising how fast hoofed animals can swim, it doesn’t look very efficient but it seems to work ok.

        December 22, 2012 at 8:16 am

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise! | Mirth and Motivation

  3. Well that was really a surprise, I can imagine!
    (When I saw the photo at first I thougt it was a submarine :))
    Great shots!

    December 22, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    • Hehe, yeah, we also wondered what it was until we realized..

      December 22, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  4. jen forbes

    I love this shot! I couldn’t help but think, hehe. Was he surprised to see you too? Did he put a photo of you in his submission for his blog’s weekly challenge?

    December 22, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    • Hehe, hmmm, that is a somewhat freaky thought… :)

      December 23, 2012 at 12:43 pm

  5. The first thought in my mind it’s Ogopogo the one that lives in one of the lake in British Columbia. Looks like a young moose.

    December 22, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    • No Ogopogo I am afraid. Yes, I think it was a “yearling”..not big at all. But having said that, moose in Sweden never gets to the size of moose in North America.

      December 23, 2012 at 12:45 pm

  6. he must have been fairly tired by the end there

    December 22, 2012 at 6:34 pm

  7. The moose picture … and I thought you were in Scotland, sitting by Loch Ness and got lucky!

    December 22, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    • Hahaah…I have one of those as well, but want to keep the secret by myself.

      December 22, 2012 at 10:57 pm

  8. Cool capture! :-)
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Holidays to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz

    December 23, 2012 at 5:02 am

    • Thank you and I wish you likewise. Happy holidays!

      December 23, 2012 at 9:26 am

  9. Thanks for visiting my blog. Love this photo…I’m a big moose fan. I also love your photo in Reflections.

    December 23, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  10. That is a huge surprise- I have read that they are mean? Did he just stare at you?

    December 26, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    • No, just a bit frightened. They are not mean really.

      December 27, 2012 at 11:12 am

  11. Holy Canoli!! That’s the best surprise entry I’ve seen this week….and I clicked on TONS of them for some reason!
    You must have been amazed!

    December 28, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers