Travel theme: Transportation

I have always, since being a teenager, been very hung up by Japan in general. It always seemed to me like such an amazing country with an interesting culture and  great food. In addition, I was always fascinated by the high speed train system in Japan; the Shinkansen. According to Wikipedia,  Japan was the first country in the world to build a dedicated high speed train rail. I have been lucky enough to visit Japan, and I even got to travel from Tokyo to Osaka on the Shinkansen. It is amazing, during the peak hours, the line between Tokyo and Osaka have up to 13 departures per hour (16 cars and a capacity of 1332 seats per departure), and transports some 150 million passengers per year.

Transportation is this weeks Travel theme at the Where’s my Backpack blog, and the below is the Shinkansen I got to ride from Tokyo to Osaka. A great experience!

061

7 responses

  1. rimassolosailingaroundtheworldm

    I am fluently in Japanese language,writing and reading. I am studyed Japanese language about 15 years.Next year in 2013 I am leaving solo sailing around the world from Port Townsend,Washington to Japan-Kochi.Please stop on my blog has plan route around the world. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    December 18, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    • I will check it out, sounds interesting!

      December 18, 2012 at 9:23 pm

  2. Which did you like better, Tokyo or Osaka?
    Personally I’m biased to Tokyo.

    Please feel free to comment on my blog.

    December 18, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    • I spent to little time in Osaka to be able to compare. Tokyo is one of my favorite cities in the world..

      December 19, 2012 at 1:12 am

  3. Fast I’ll bet. Very, very fast.

    December 18, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers